If you have been charged with a boating while intoxicated charge in Austin, Texas, our criminal attorney can assist you. A BWI charge in Austin is a serious offense and can have an effect on a person’s personal, social and work life. However, many people are unaware that you can be charged for being intoxicated on a boat in the state of Texas. This means that if you are drinking alcohol while you are operating a Yacht, speed boat, jet ski or even a sailboat without a motor, you can be charged with a BWI. As an Austinite it is important to know these details since many of those that live in Austin enjoy the rivers of Austin in their down time.
Email us or call us today for a free consultation.
Penalties for a BWI (Boating While Intoxicated) in Austin & Travis County
Texas law states the following about penalties for boating while you are intoxicated.
- The first charge carries a fine of up to $2,000 and/or jail time of up to 180 days.
- The second charge carries a fine of up to $4,000 and/or jail time of up to one year.
- The third charge carries a fine of up to $10,000 and/or jail time of 2–10 years.
Texas has severe penalties for those that drink and operate boats and the charges are similar to those of a DWI charge in Austin. There are over 580,000 boats registered in the state of Texas and according to BoatUS, 50% of all boating accidents are related to alcohol.
Below you’ll find some Texas Boating Statistics.
Texas Boating-Related Statistics
Contact Us If You’ve Been Charged with BWI (Boating While Intoxicated) In Austin or Travis County Texas
Our BWI lawyer in Austin is here to assist you. If you have been charged with a BWI, do not wait, email us or give us a call today for a free consultation. Our criminal attorney is experienced and will give your case the time and attention it deserves.